One Week, Many Seasons (aka Spring in Toronto)

Tomatoes and basil that we planted in the Withrow Garden. Gardens always look funny right after transplanting - I'm always tempted to plant more, because of the empty space, but have learned to resist the temptation. We'll likely have a tomato jungle soon enough!

Tomatoes and basil that we planted in the Withrow Garden. Gardens always look funny right after transplanting – I’m always tempted to plant more, because of the empty space, but have learned to resist the temptation. We’ll likely have a tomato jungle soon enough!

On Tuesday at Withrow, we planted some tomato seedlings (among some others). I was debating whether it was ok to plant them, since the weather was still pretty cool that day, but decided that a) they were so overgrown that they needed to go in the soil, and b) I had a class signed up for transplanting so I had a team of planters ready. The planting went pretty well – we planted 5 tomato seedlings (Beefsteak, Hawaiian Currant, White Currant, Moneymaker and Marianna’s Peace), a few basil plants, a rosemary plant and one jalapeño pepper.

Turns out the temperature may have been the least of my worries. After Tuesday, it’s gotten really hot and muggy in Toronto. My bigger concern now is whether they survived the pounding of rain they got on the night between Tuesday and Wednesday. To give non-Toronto folks and idea of how much rain we got, here’s a site with some pictures of one of Toronto’s biggest highways on Wednesday morning. Here are some pictures of what that river usually looks like.

I know I’ve said this before and I’ll likely say it again, but it’s strange working at gardens that I’m only at once a week. Tuesday and Wednesday mornings are always a bit of a surprise, going to the gardens and seeing what’s happened in the previous week and what needs to be done. A good lesson in letting go of my sense of control over the gardens…

And speaking of things I can’t control, I ended up doing one of my class lessons at Withrow in-class this week, because it was raining a wee bit too hard to take the grade 2 kiddies outside. But for once, I had actually planned for the rain and had in-class activities with me for all of my classes (but only needed to use them for one class, luckily).  So instead of doing the outdoor Spring scavenger hunt, we did a Seasons in the Garden lesson. I read a wonderful book that I’ve recently discovered – Plant a Little Seed, by Bonnie Christensen. It looks at a garden through the seasons, in a lovely, poetic way with wonderful illustrations. After reading the book, we discussed what happens in the garden and what we do in the garden in different seasons. The students then worked on a Seasons in the Garden worksheet. Most of them worked really hard and drew beautifully detailed pictures. Here are a few examples (it was very hard to choose which ones to post!):

Seasons in the Garden 3 Seasons in the Garden 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seasons in the Garden 1

And speaking of seasons. It’s the middle of asparagus season here in southern Ontario right now, and I’ve just been devouring it! So if you’re in this part of the world, go get yourself some local asparagus while it’s fresh!

Delicious Wooler Dale Farm asparagus!

Delicious Wooler Dale Farm asparagus!

Happy growing!

Leave a Reply

