Bermuda school garden

So, we’ve seen this before: I can’t fully get away from teaching gardens wherever I go. Over the holidays, I was lucky to spend a few days in Bermuda with my family. It’s strange for me, as an outdoor and garden educator to be somewhere where I can identify so few of the plants. But it’s always fascinating finding plants I don’t recognize (and wondering which of them are edible… though not experimenting, of course…).

A school food garden in Bermuda.

A school food garden in Bermuda.

Anyway, on one of our day-hikes, we stumbled upon a school garden. Hooray! Didn’t get super close, so I’m not sure what all they were growing, though I definitely saw some nice looking kale and broccoli. And some banana trees – hmmm, guess I can’t grow those in my school gardens… It’s exciting seeing different school food gardens and how they garden in different climates.

Happy (climate-appropriate) growing!

A banana tree in a back alley.

A banana tree in a back alley.

Example of one of the plants I couldn't identify. Saw one on the ground one day and it smelled sweet and looked custardy inside. Intrigued...

Example of one of the plants I couldn’t identify. Saw one on the ground one day and it smelled sweet and looked custardy inside. Intrigued…

Leave a Reply

