In other cooking news…

We made some delicious Stone Soup and Scissor Salsa again with a few classes at Withrow this fall.  (I’ve described both of these activities in quite a lot of detail last fall, so check my earlier posts for info about that.)  Both activities were definite hits again this fall, and both students and teachers enjoyed the delicious snacks/meals. With one of the grade 1 classes, we had a huge amount of veggies that the kids had brought in, and it made such a delicious soup – cauliflower and cabbage in soup are just delicious! The kids gobbled up bowls of soup and salsa, and leftovers of both disappeared pretty quickly from the staff room fridge.

I must say, though, that doing cooking activities with more than one or two classes in one day can get pretty chaotic! Wow, was I ever exhausted after a day when I made Stone Soup once, Scissor Salsa twice, and then had one more non-cooking class and Garden Club. But it’s always rewarding and fun to cook with the students. Luckily I had a wonderful parent helping with the soup and the teachers were great about helping with the dishes. Phew! Also, I’m glad I’ve gotten better at accepting the inherent chaos that comes with cooking with kids. It definitely used to stress me out when they were so excited and loud and impatient during cooking activities, but I’ve gotten better at taking it in stride and I think that my relative calmness keeps them from going even crazier…  I’ve also gotten better at accepting the fact that there will be short periods when a few kids don’t have anything to do for a minute or so, and have gotten better at letting them know that cooking requires some patience and that we’ll give them something to do as soon as we get a chance.  Yes, getting used to the chaos has allowed me to enjoy cooking activities with kids a lot more.

And speaking of fun chaos, I got to work at the High Park teaching kitchen on Tuesday night with a group of Sparks (16 5-6 year old girls) for a cooking programme.  We ended up making kale chips and two types of scones (cheddar and chive, and currant and pumpkin seed).  Yum! (And a totally reasonable dinner for me, right?)

Beet and chocolate muffins! Mmmm!

And in my own kitchen, I made some delicious beet and chocolate muffins. What a great combo! I got the recipe from a wonderful book I’ve recently discovered (thanks again to FoodShare): Stephanie Alexander’s “Kitchen Garden Cooking for Kids“. What an amazing and inspiring book! The first half describes a school garden and kitchen project in Australia and the second half of the book has tons of great recipes. I definitely think that this book has to make it into my personal library soon…  Also, check out the whole Kitchen Garden Foundation website for some interesting and inspiring information and resources.

Happy growing (and cooking and eating)!

Leave a Reply

